No one ever injured their eyesight by looking on the bright side.

I just realized that I always start my posts on a statement of what type of week it was…this time I feel like changing it up and leaving it a mystery.

I have been looking forward to this long weekend so bad, four days of working “weekend hours”, its the farm life dream. Before we get to the weekend though, there still has to be a Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. You have probably never experienced a busier week in your entire life. The first draft of sales yearlings going to Johannesburg were leaving this Saturday, so there had to be shoeing and vet checking and some owners and trainers like to come look at the yearlings on the farm as well. Because it was technically only four days in this week, we had to squeeze everything in…we literally used every spare second on the clock to get things done. We made it though, and all on my own I managed to juggle the foals, the weanlings, and the yearlings, the treatments, the farrier, the vet, and everything in between. You know what makes it all worth it, when your boss tells you “…that he is really impressed with you, and really proud.”

I can fully say with confidence that the horses going to the sale are ALL MINE! They are my blood, sweat, and tears. I didn’t think anyone noticed how much work and effort I put into it, nevermind the boss. Now Mrs. So and So isn’t here, they finally see my light! God has got my back, He always has. Like they say, Good always wins.

Starting on the weekend…I just couldn’t wait to get Saturday over and done with. I wanted those horses on the truck and on their way to Johannesburg as soon as possible! Just hoping and praying that the guys packed everything and the horses had all their stuff, and everyone got on the truck okay. To be honest, I have been so anxious I have not been able to sleep or eat at all. I have no idea why I was stressing about it, because it went smoother than a piece of silk.

Another exciting thing happened this weekend, I made a friend! Yes, your probably thinking, you should have tons of friends in Robertson, you’ve been there for eleven months! Holy moly, just got a fright! I have been here for ELEVEN months! Anyways, He (yes, he) is the resident “house-sitter” (No, that’s not his real job. of course.) My work colleagues  occasionally ask him to house sit while they are away. He’s been here a couple of times, but I only properly met him on Friday after work. He wasn’t what I had pictured…down-to-earth, pleasant, has a rather capturing smile, and amazing manners…a proper gentleman. It was probably the first holiday since I left home that I didn’t feel completely alone.

I am not the most social person on the planet, I would much rather get pizza and watch a movie under a blanket than go out drinking till early hours of the morning. I would rather go hiking, go on a road-trip, or do something exciting than spend every weekend at a different party. I guess that is why I haven’t made many friends in eleven months. But, I do have a best friend already, I feel like I don’t need anyone else. My sister is my best friend…she knows me better than anyone else ever could, heck, she knows me better than I know myself! She know’s how I feel by simply reading my messages or hearing my voice. Some people meet their best friends in school, or wherever…I was just incredibly lucky that I grew up with mine. Wow, getting a little emotional over here on my couch. Excuse me, it happens every holiday, I am most emotional during these times of year. I am just super blessed, and super thankful for my family. Even though we are miles and miles apart (I know South Africa use kilometers, but that statement sounds better in miles…even you have to admit) Anyways, even though we are miles apart…I couldn’t feel closer to them.

Back to my mystery friend…I don’t like mentioning any real names on my blog so we are going to call my new friend, Fish (there is  story behind that) let’s hope and pray I don’t mess this one up by being a socially awkward little mouse that doesn’t like getting out of her comfort zone. I really hope this is not the last time we will hear from Fish.

I am always surprised at how much can happen in a week! I am never short of stories, am I? Well, that is really all for now.

As always, thanks for listening.

 

 

Leave a Reply

