It Is Well

The past few weeks have gone by like a flash, everyday, every week, same routine. Every now and then a challenge came my way but you know, nothing I cannot handle. I know God has always got it under control. When I cannot simply see how everything is going to work out, it just does because He has a plan to prosper and not to harm. This is my verse for life and it’s what gets me through everyday.

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

We now approximately have 20 foals on the ground at the moment, 15 of which I foaled. I am adding slowly but surely to my experience, coming into this job I felt a little rusty with my foaling. I am so confident now, I feel like I would be okay on my own. At long last! It just shows you that if you have someone who is willing to show you and teach you not for their own gain but because they really want to, how far you can actually go!

It’s been a learning curve everyday on this stud, I swear there is not a day that goes by that I don’t learn something! It has been rather refreshing working on a smaller stud and actually being in “charge” of a division. I always felt a little insignificant and my opinions did not really matter. I was just the quiet one in the background doing what I am told. Not without learning anything, that was my advantage! Of course, in the beginning you are going to feel like you are a nobody, technically you are! You cannot even dream of having the experience of some of the people in your field, the people who have been working there for the past fifteen years…they were once insignificant too.

I have big decisions to make next week, and future plans to make. My heart and my mind are in constant battle between reality and fantasy. When all your options are good which one do you choose? I just need to put it in God’s Hands and know that He has got it under control!

I am also a little home sick at the moment, and long for one more hug from my Mom, one more horse ride with my Dad, one more shopping session with my sister, one more family dinner. I just need to stress how important those things are, like the words to this song go…

Well you only need the light when it’s burning low
Only miss the sun when it starts to snow
Only know you love her when you let her go

Only know you’ve been high when you’re feeling low
Only hate the road when you’re missing home
Only know you love her when you let her go

You don’t really realize what you have until it’s not there anymore! I know we have all got to grow up sometime, but there is nothing wrong with missing home(especially when you have got the greatest family in the world).

Now that I am finished being highly sentimental, partly being of a small case of “homesickness”, and partly because my cat has gone walkabout again and he is out in one of the worst days of wind and rain since I have been here. He’ll be back!

So, it’s late and I did not want to leave another week without a little update. Let me end on a rather random but beautiful theory for the week. This week, let’s be pineapples, lets STAND TALL, WEAR A CROWN, AND BE SWEET ON THE INSIDE!

Leave a Reply

