A New Adventure

Hello again, it’s that time again, time for another adventure.

My career has led me to a farm just outside of Cape Town, in a relatively small town called Robertson.  Robertson is known as the wine country…there are literally vineyards and cellars everywhere, and I am definitely not complaining! Nestled in the middle lies a beautiful stud called Highlands Farm, and this is where my new journey starts, my fourth stud season.

Today would be my fourteenth day here, but I technically started work twelve days ago. So, let’s see, in twelve days I have had to learn how everything runs here, and in between I have had my first weekend on, ALL BY MYSELF…I have had to learn names (a lot people and horses), I learned vaccinating, I have learned a quick confidence that I never knew I had and feel that it’s going to grow a lot more.

To be honest, I wasn’t sure if I was ready for this season, I had lost so much confidence in myself and I was not sure if I was ready. Until I got here, and I met the managers and I have  never felt more welcome in my life. Of course, I respect authority and the managers that have been here longer than I have and I cant wait to learn all that I can from them. They treat me as an equal, they treat me as one of them. I have worked so hard to be here right now, I started at the bottom and I am climbing the ladder of success.

The lesson that I learned is that God knows what He is doing, the time you spend climbing that ladder will be the most important time of your life. Dont get me wrong, I am not saying it’s going to be smooth sailing from now. The wind blows the hardest at the top of the mountain but the view is much clearer the higher you get.

I AM SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW! I have a beautiful house, a company car, a horse that I can ride, i am five minutes from town (which has everything), I have wi-fi, cable,  an awesome job with awesome people…I can’t complain.  Every day I wake up with a new energy, and live a life people can only imagine in the most beautiful place my eyes have ever seen.

Only by God’s grace.

I will now end with this verse.

“But whatever I am now, it is all because God poured out his special favor on me – and not without results. For I have worked harder than any other apostles; yet it was not I but God who was working through me by his grace.” 1 Corinthians 15:10

That is all for now…short and sweet.

DSCF6222

Leave a Reply

